Samples rant and Parfum d’Empire Equistrius

Dear Scent Diary,

visuel_echantillonsWhy can’t all perfume houses be like Parfum d’Emipre and have a great sample program? Don’t all the others get that it’s hard to fall in love with their fragrances if we can’t get our noses on them? Surely there’s some math that proves samples convert to full bottle sales at a higher percentage than NO samples. And they don’t even have to be free! I know I’m happy to pay a (reasonable) price for a sample set. Why is it not an industry standard, diary?

images-1I have a soft spot for Parfum d”Empire as a house because their sample program is one of the best. It includes a 2 ml spray sample of every single frag in their line (13) for 22 euros shipped worldwide, and arrives beautifully packaged with a personal note.

After a weary nosed sample-fest, one scent emerged victorious.

Equistrius is considered an iris scent by most but what hooked me was the warm, buttery sandalwood. When does warm, buttery sandalwood not hook me is the question. Anyway, it’s a rich, addictive, complex blend of iris, violet, sandalwood, amber and chocolate that’s truly divine. I have Birgit at Olfactoria’s Travels to thank for whetting my appetite for it. Luckily for me, it lasts much longer on my skin than on hers – at least 10 hours.

Diary, I’ve noticed that my husband has raided my samples and was wafting Cuir Ottoman today. Leather notes can be a challenge on me, but on him this one is glorious. We may be a two Pd’E family before too long.

9 responses to “Samples rant and Parfum d’Empire Equistrius

  1. Ah! I’m so happy you like Parfum d’Empire! It’s one of my favourite niche perfume houses. They make great quality perfume while they prices are very reasonable. At the moment I’m owner of two bottles from their offerings : Eau de Gloire and Cuir Ottoman and I’m planning to get a few more starting with Iskander for this spring/summer season

  2. I’m also a fan of brands that sell reasonably priced samples. Though with Parfum d’Empire I didn’t get a chance to use their problem since several perfumes from the range got to me from my blogo-friends and then I swapped several more… So by now I’ve probably tested most of them with just a couple of omissions.

    Cuir Ottoman was so great on my vSO that I had to get him a bottle – to smell if from him 🙂 The next purchase I’m considering is Ambre Russe. As to Equistrius… I suspect I will love it but so far I had just a smidge (1 application worth dab sample) to test from a friend so I’ll wait until I get a chance to test it fully from a bottle or a bigger sample but the first impression was very favorable.

    • So nice to be able to acquire samples from friends and swaps – even more affordable! Ambre Russe is also very special, I agree. I’m happy to send you a few squirts of Equistrius from my bottle if you like Undina. You really should try it from a spray…

      • If you own a full bottle of it, we could do a swap of 3 -5 ml decants (I can send you a list of what I have to see if you’d like any of those). But even if you could spare just 1-1.5 ml in a spray sample I wouldn’t refuse.

      • Lorraine, I just realized that you probably meant your sample. If this is the case, disregard my previous comment. Thank you for your kind offer but I think you should enjoy your it, it’s too small to share. I’ll either end up buying a sample from one of the decanting sites or find who wants to swap for it. But again, thank you for your offer!

  3. R

    Exactly what I was wondering!! Parfum d”Empire has a great samples program and I will take the plunge soon, although I can sample them at my local perfumery too [ and Wazamba didn’t impress me so far! ] but it is one to have them nice and neat at your home.

    I also rec, for samples, Histories des Parfums [ 10e for 6x2ml ] and, if you fancy, Atelier Cologne. If you know of other good house that offer nice samples let me know!

  4. Juliette Has a Gun has a good discovery kit and Olfactive Studio does as well. Try Ysuzac too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

